Royal Birkdale - Aintree Racecourse - Southport FC - Bootle FC - Marine FC - AFC Liverpool - Maghull FC

Sports Institutions in Sefton - Liverpool City Region

Sefton borough is the home to some of the greatest sporting events in the world. The Grand National steeplechase held annually at Aintree Racecourse is one of the most viewed events on the British calendar, with between 500 and 600 million people in over 140 countries watching the spectacle every year. It has been a British sporting institution since it began in 1839. Originally called the Grand Liverpool Steeplechase, it's widely believed that the first three races began in nearby Maghull. Excited onlookers watching motor racing at the Aintree 200 in Sefton With many racing enthusiast still arguing to this day, when and where the first Grand National was held.
One thing is for certain, the race has continued to delight avid race goers ever since.
Aintree racecourse has also been home to other sports during its history. It was the venue for the British Grand Prix on five occasions between 1955 and 1962. The 3 mile Grand Prix circuit became known as the 'Aintree 200', with 11 non-championship Formula 1 races also being held there. The first Aintree 200 was won by none other than the famous Stirling Moss in 1954, he was described as 'the greatest driver never to win the World Championship' having come close so many times. The last racing driver to win the Aintree 200 was the three-time Formula One Champion, Jack Brabham in 1964.
Today, a shorter 1 and a half mile circuit is still used for motorcycle races, but sadly, car racing was discontinued in 1982. There has however, been recent attempts by members of the Liverpool Motor Club to keep the venue alive for motor car racing.
Aintree racecourse also contains a 9-hole golf course, with a driving range within its boundaries too. Royal Birkdale Golf Club in Southport - Liverpool City Region Golfers have the chance to see the famous track from a different perspective as famous features such as Becher's Brook are incorporated into the course.
If golf is your game, then look no further then Southport. The town is at the centre of England's Golf Coast, being home to the world famous Royal Birkdale Golf Club. The venue has seen the world's greatest golfers grace the course, including Jack Nicklaus, Seve Ballesteros, Tom Watson, Nick Faldo, Ernie Els, Yani Tseng and Tiger Woods.
The course was ranked by Golf Digest magazine in 2007, as the 18th best course in the world, outside of the United States. As far as golf tournaments go, they don't get any bigger than the Open World Championships and the Ryder Cup, with Royal Birkdale hosting them both a number of times.
As well as being at the forefront of both horse racing and golf, Sefton also has a rich footballing history too. There are many football clubs in the borough, not surprising given the immense talent the region has produced over the years.
Yes, the coastal borough is awash with sporting greatness, here are some of the institutions that have made it so.

Royal Birkdale Golf Club - Sefton

Royal Birkdale Golf Club

Royal Birkdale Golf Club is a premier golf course in the town of Southport. It was founded in 1889 and awarded 'Royal' status in 1951. The world-class course has hosted major golf tournaments, such as The Open Championships and The Ryder Cup.

Honours Total
The Ryder Cup 2
The Open Championships 9
The Women's British Open 6
The British Amateur Championships 3
The Senior Open Championship 1
The Walker Cup 1
The Curtis Cup 1

Aintree Racecourse - Sefton

Aintree Racecourse

Aintree Racecourse is home to the four and a half mile Grand National steeplechase, one of the most famous races in the world. The venue has been the cultural home of British horse racing since the first Grand National, way back in 1839.

Honours Total
Racing Post Readers Award 1

Southport FC - Sefton

Southport FC

Formed as Southport Central FC in 1881, they're former professional members of the English Football League. The original club began life as a rugby team in the 1870's, only switching to football following a series of heavy defeats.

Honours Total
English Football League Div 4 Champions 1
Conference North Champions 2
Northern Premier League Winners 1
English Football League Div 3 North Cup Winners 1
Liverpool Senior Cup Winners 11
Lancashire Old League Winners 1
Lancashire Senior Cup Winners 1
Northern Premier League Challenge Cup Winners 1

Bootle FC - Sefton

Bootle FC

Formed in 1953 as Langton FC, the club reverted to its better known identity of Bootle FC in 1972, taking the name from the former Bootle club that folded in 1954. They are the only team to win the Liverpool County Combination in Six successive seasons.

Honours Total
North West Counties League Div 1 Winners 1
North West Counties League Floodlit Trophy Winners 1
Liverpool Senior Cup Winners 1
Liverpool County Combination League Winners 9
Liverpool Amateur Cup Winners 3
Liverpool Challenge Cup Winners 3
Lancashire Combination League Winners 2
Lancashire Amateur Cup Winners 1
Cheshire County League Div 2 Winners 1

Marine FC - Sefton

Marine FC

Founded in 1894, Marine are members of both the Liverpool and Lancashire County FA's. Their former manager Roly Howard is the longest serving manager in post-war English football, having occupied the post for a total of 1,975 games over a 33 year period.

Honours Total
Northern Premier League Winners 2
Northern Premier League Challenge Cup Winners 3
Liverpool Senior Cup Winners 7
Liverpool County Combination League Winners 5
Liverpool Amateur Cup Winners 9
Liverpool Challenge Cup Winners 3
Liverpool I Zingari League Winners 6
Cheshire County League Winners 3
Lancashire Amateur Cup Winners 6
Lancashire Football Association Challenge Trophy Winners 4

AFC Liverpool - Sefton

AFC Liverpool

Formed by 1,000 Liverpool Football Club fans in 2008. The club provides a match-going experience for fans who have been priced out of Premier League football. It's based around the same community as Liverpool FC, adopting the same colours and fan songs.

Honours Total
North West Counties League First Division Trophy Winners 1

Maghull FC - Sefton

Maghull FC

Founded in 1921, they've won numerous local competitons during their history. It's run by an active committee of former players and managers. Some of whom earning special recognition by the FA, having served the game for over fifty years.

Honours Total
North West Counties League Div 2 Winners 1
West Cheshire League Winners 1
Liverpool Amateur Cup Winners 1
Liverpool Challenge Cup Winners 4
Liverpool I Zingari Combination Champions 1
Liverpool I Zingari Alliance League 1
Liverpool I Zingari Alliance Cup Winners 1
Liverpool I Zingari Challange Cup Winners 1
Lancashire Amateur Cup Winners 3