St.Helens RFC - Liverpool St Helens FC - Haydock Park Racecourse - St.Helens Town AFC

Sports Institutions in St.Helens - Liverpool City Region

St.Helens borough has some of the finest sporting institutions in the world. It's home to the twice 'World Champions of Rugby League', the 'Oldest Open Rugby Union Club in the World' and the 'Oldest Continually Competed for Trophy in the World'. St Helens have rugby running through their veins - Liverpool City Region St.Helens Rugby League FC are major players in their sport, having stamped their mark on the national and international stage throughout their long successful history. They were founded as 'St.Helens Football Club', by William Douglas Herman on the 19th of November in 1873, they are one of the oldest members of the Rugby Football League. They played their first ever match on the 31st of January in 1874, against Liverpool Royal Infirmary. Up until the 1880s, they were known as St.Helens Rangers. In 1890 they moved to Knowsley Road, a ground that would see them lift a gluttony of trophies during their 120 year stay. In 1895 the club were one of 22 clubs that resigned from the Rugby Football Union and established the Northern Union. In 1897, they took part in the first ever Challenge Cup, only losing out in the final to Batley 10-3. They have since contested 21 Challange Cup finals, winning 12 of them. During the 20th century the club won countless trophies and continued to grow from strength to strength. In 2001, they beat Australian professional rugby league football club the 'Brisbane Broncos' in the World Club Challenge, cementing their place as one of the greatest Rugby League teams of all time. A feat they managed to repeat some six years later. In 2010, the twice world champions moved into their new 18,000 seater world-class stadium 'Langtree Park', saying good bye to the famous Knowsley Road ground that had served them so well over the years.
So onto the 'Oldest Open Rugby Union Club in the World'. Liverpool Football Club (Not to be confused with LFC from Anfield) were established in 1857, the club now play their home games at Moss Lane in Windle. Their first ever match took place at the Liverpool Cricket Club in Liverpool. Saints at the first ever Challenge Cup final in 1897 It was organised by Frank Albert Mather of Bootle Hall, with as many as fifty players arriving for a friendly. The match was described as a pleasant one and played very much as a trial. It was following this encounter that 'Liverpool Football Club' was formed. However, in the absence of any other local Rugby Football club to arrange a fixture against, it wasn't until over three years later that they managed to play their first known opponents. It was Richard Sykes, close friend to Frank Albert Mather and fellow organiser of the original friendly match that went on to form a club in Manchester. And 1861 they played their first official match against the Manchester club. 'Liverpool Football Club' merged with 'St.Helens RUFC' in 1986, changing its name to 'Liverpool St.Helens Football Club'.
Perhaps one of the most distinguished honours for the borough is that it is also the home to the 'Oldest Continually Competed for Trophy in the World'. The 'Old Newton Cup' has a history dating back over 200 years, it is run every July over a distance of one and a half miles. The competition is the last tangible surviving link between the original racecourse and current the Haydock Park.
Indeed the borough of St.Helens is steeped with sporting history, below are some of the institutes that make it so.

St.Helens RFC - St.Helens

St.Helens RFC

Nicknamed the 'Saints', St Helens Rugby Football Club are by far and away the most successful club in the borough. Formed in 1873, they play in the highest echelon of English Rugby League. In 2007, they became World Champions for the second time.

Honours Total
Rugby League World Champions 2
Rugby League Champions 13
Rugby League Challenge Cup Winners 12
Rugby League Premiership Winners 4
League Leader's Shield Winners 6
Regal Trophy Winners 1
Charity Shield Winners 1
Lancashire Cup Winners 11
Lancashire League Winners 9
BBC Floodlit Trophy Winners 3
Sports Team of the Year 1

Liverpool St Helens FC - St.Helens

Liverpool St.Helens FC

Formed in 1857, Liverpool Football Club (Not to be confused with LFC from Anfield) is the oldest open rugby club in the world. They amalgamated with another rugby union team 'St.Helens RUFC' in 1986, becoming 'Liverpool St Helens Football Club'.

Honours Total
Lancashire Cup Winners 5
North Division 2 West Champions 1

Haydock Park Racecourse - St.Helens

Haydock Park Racecourse

Haydock Park is one of the most used racecourses in the country, with both Flat and Jump Races held over 30 days each year. The current racecourse opened in 1899 and is home to the oldest competed for trophy in the world, 'The Old Newton Cup'.

Honours Total
Racecourse of the Year 2

St.Helens Town AFC - St.Helens

St.Helens Town AFC

St Helens Town AFC are an English football club playing in the North West Counties League Division One. The current club took the name of the original 1901 club, when a group of local businessmen purchased the former Hoghton Road ground in 1946.

Honours Total
Lancashire Combination Champions 1
Lancashire Combination Div 2 Champions 1

Garswood United Football Club

Garswood United FC

Formed in 1967, Garswood United Association Football Club is an English football club based in Garswood. Their home ground is 'Simms Lane End' and they are currently members of the Premier Division of the Cheshire League.

Honours Total
Mid-Cheshire League Div 1 Winners 1
Mid-Cheshire League Div 2 Winners 1